The Vanishing Flamingoes- Lake Nakuru

I got a chance to visit Lake Nakuru National Park last month….. I must say a lot has changed. My last visit must have been 4-5 years ago.

Lake Nakuru is one  of the many lakes on the floor of the Great Rift Valley.  The lake is surrounded by the  Park which is home to a huge variety of mammals like the black and white rhino.

Its one of the only parks in Kenya where you can use your personal car for game drives. The murram roads within the park are well maintained.

Lake Nakuru has always been known for its flamingoes.  Fast forward to today….there are hardly any flamingoes on the lake . The rising water levels in the recent years have caused them to move  to Lake Bogoria.

The lake water has spread into the park as you can see in the photo above cutting off some roads within the park.

All is not lost for the park .Its a perfect weekend getaway as its only a 2 hours drive from Nairobi.

You can still enjoy a wonderful game drives within the park.

wp_20161203_12_47_10_pro1

You can  also visit the view points over looking the lake.( Lion hill, Baboon cliff and Out of Africa)

Enjoy a visit to Makalia Falls located within the park.

wp_20161203_13_05_40_pro1

So if you are visiting Nakuru County soon…… Go out and enjoy this wonderful park.

Happy Travels!!

Replacement

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

56 Comments Add yours

  1. kuuipovea says:

    This would be amazing to see!
    http://www.kuuipovea.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carly Wayward Heyward says:

    I tweeted this, but my preference is pinning. If I pinned it though, it didn’t have a good image, and I also didn’t know where this park was located!

    Like

    1. Thanks Cathy….the park is in Kenya

      Like

  3. fromdreamtoplan says:

    Hi! Happy to have found your blog! I love the layout, the style the content…everything! I’ve read some of your posts and I can’t wait to read more! Looking forward to following you 🙂

    Lisa | http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/

    Like

      1. fromdreamtoplan says:

        My pleasure! 🙂

        Like

  4. Katie says:

    I’m glad the flamingos are still around but at a different lake. How a fun experience to take your own car on a drive through the park!

    Like

    1. Yes the roads are quite good….The rest of our parks like Masai Mara…..you need a vehicle for that kind of terrain

      Like

  5. Aaaahhh…don’t you just love being dwarfed by nature?

    Like

    1. Reason I look forward to trips out of town.

      Like

  6. natalietanner says:

    What a glorious spot for a get away! Interesting you can drive your own car. I suppose that the game you see like the giraffes and rhino are not disturbed by people driving around?

    Like

    1. The park is huge……and you are not allowed to drive off the trucks thus you do not disturb the animals

      Like

  7. What a gorgeous park!! Thanks for the inspo to make a trip to Kenya 🙂

    Like

    1. Would be great to show you around….

      Like

  8. gtcookbook says:

    Did you get any shots of the rhinos? I would love to see those!
    Kenya seems so magical, it’s a shame that the flamingos are no longer there in big numbers – do you know why that is?

    Like

    1. Yes I got to see some rhinos but they were quite far so I didnt get clear shots…..Its been raining alot thus causing the water levels to increase thus the shallow feeding grounds for the flamingoes are all under water

      Like

  9. How large is the waterfall? Was the water pretty muddy? Looks beautiful but not something I would want to go swimming in.

    Like

    1. It depends with the season……in rainy weather its get quite big…… I wouldnt swim in it either as its gets quite muddy

      Like

  10. I’m really keen to go to Kenya but not sure if it’s super safe at the moment? Would love to see this Lake though if I do get out there

    Like

    1. Hey…You can visit anytime . The travel advisories are not for Kenya as a whole but for particular locations . The safety concerns are usually in the cities or the coastal areas close to our Somali border….but if you are on safari…you are quite far from it all. Therefore quite safe….. Let me know if you need further details.

      Like

  11. I can’t wait to visit Kenya and Tanzania. It’s actually my dream honeymoon destination! I’d love to fly camp out there.

    Like

    1. You are welcome to visit…..We have lots of bush honeymoon packages am sure you would enjoy 🙂

      Like

  12. Neha Verma says:

    I like this lake and i wish it never vanishes. The waterfall also looks amazing. I can understand how the volume would be increasing in rainy season

    Like

  13. Maria Jesus says:

    What a stunning lake to visit! I’ll add it to my pending list! If you have more pics of it, please let me know where to check it!

    Like

    1. Hey Maria…you can check out the National Parks website :http://www.kws.go.ke/lake-nakuru-national-park

      Like

  14. Lizzie Jones says:

    Thank you so much for adding a new place to my ever expanding bucket list!

    Like

    1. You are welcome to visit

      Like

  15. Gem says:

    At first, I though the flamingos were completely extinct. That would have been sad. I am glad to hear that they are just moved to a different location.
    I am curious as to what is now the “top things to see” in lake Nakuru?

    Happy travels!

    Like

    1. The lake is surrounded by the park where you can be able to see animals like the white and black rhinos,cape buffalo, African wild dog, zebra, eland, waterbuck and lion..etc…. You can also visit the view points like Baboon Cliff… (The picture above of the lake is taken from Baboon Cliff)

      Like

  16. That’s so sad to read about! A world without flamingoes is not for me! I love that waterfall photo at the end of the post too.

    Like

  17. lydia@lifeuntraveled says:

    Interesting to know you can self-drive in this park and that it’s so close to Nairobi. How sad that the flamingos have moved to another lake but at least they’re safe and sound.

    Like

    1. They are still around 🙂

      Like

  18. Great blog post. Learned something new. This is certainly a place I’d like to visit.

    Like

  19. Looks like a gorgeous park to enjoy the nature and wildlife spotting! It’s sad to learn that there are no more flamingoes though 😦

    Like

    1. Hopefully once the water level comes back to normal….they will be back… At the moment they have moved on to a neighbouring Lake Bogoria

      Like

  20. kallsypage says:

    So jealous of this amazing opportunity and experience! I especially am fond of the waterfall.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Africa is a dream. The diminishing of animal populations really breaks my heart. Hopefully through responsible eco-tourism we will be able to turn this around.

    Like

    1. In the case of Flamingoes….they have just moved on to another lake but still in huge numbers ….But we definately have issues with our elephant and rhino populations due to poaching for Ivory

      Like

  22. Kenya is a wonderland, a veritable eden. It is sad that the animal populations are threatened. The flamingoes are graceful birds, glad to see them survive. I know the agencies and other stakeholders are doing their best to conserve the environment.

    Like

    1. Indeed there is work being done….and more still to be done

      Like

  23. It’s sad to see that many species are under threat, but thankfully some measures are taken,if not all. Africa is a gem and should be protected. It’s a dream to visit someday.

    Like

  24. kiwirugbytravelstories says:

    The photos in this blog are outstanding. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  25. maniniexp says:

    Looks like a great place to visit! So sad to hear about the flamingoes, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Wandering JM says:

    It looks really stunning and surely a great place to relax

    Like

  27. Cali says:

    I was lucky enough to visit Nakuru in the summer of 2015. While there were flamingoes, there weren’t very many. I also saw some white rhinos in the distance but I imagine those are getting harder and harder to spot!

    Like

    1. Oh wow thats nice….during my visit there were no flamingoes at all…..do hope you enjoyed your time here 🙂

      Like

  28. It’s so interesting to me that the flamingos have left due to rising water! One of the biggest issues we’re facing in my home area (Nevada and California, USA) is dropping water levels. Extreme drought has left many of our lakes and reservoirs dry! Crazy that both extremes can have so much damage to the wildlife.

    Like

    1. Oh wow…..There’s definately got to be a balance

      Like

  29. Where have the flamingoes decided to shoot off to I wonder?
    Interesting.

    Like

    1. They moved to a neighbouring lake ..(Lake Bogoria)

      Liked by 1 person

  30. Wonderful post! I didn’t know you can self-drive through the reserve. I visited it 3 years ago and it was a wonderful experience! Also Nayvasha reserve with those cute hypos – just magic – here is our post from both the reserves 🙂 https://www.themagicoftraveling.com/nakuru-nayvasha-en/

    Like

    1. Oh wow…..what lovely photos… I am glad you had a lovely time….. yes you can self drive in Nakuru as the roads are quite good…. but not for Masai Mara…the terrain is quite rough.

      Like

  31. 65literlife says:

    I always think it is interesting to see how our favorite places change over time. Even though it isn’t always for the better, its good to know about them and educate the world about them.

    Like

    1. I will …thank you

      Like

  32. Katharina says:

    I love Africa. And this park sounds really cool. Such a shame the flamingoes arent there any more though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

