My 1st night in Maasai Mara

I have been to most of the parks in Kenya but none comes even remotely close to the Mara. This park never disappoints especially when it comes to the Big Cats (lions, cheetahs, leopards).  Even without the animals roaming the vast plains, the landscape is simply amazing.

I visited the park last weekend .Preparing for this trip was not easy. Here are some tips that can help you .

Going on Safari ?? What do you need to pack??

Unlike my first visit, this time I had to leave my 13 month old baby girl for a couple of days. I had a month to mentally prepare  for it but it was so difficult to leave the house that morning . I guess it was the separation anxiety.  The roads towards the park are quite bumpy and not ideal for a young child. Although there are people who still go with their young kids by road. I will definitely organise a visit for her when she is a bit older.

The trip was to be a short holiday as well as an opportunity to visit some hotel properties in the Mara. I love my job as travel consultant and such trips are quite helpful.

We left Nairobi at around 8 am and drove all the way to Narok town. It’s about a 2 hours drive . We had a short stopover. This is  the  last major town when travelling by road from Nairobi to Maasai Mara. This is usually the last chance to visit the wash rooms or to grab something to eat before you start the long trip to the Mara.

I also had an opportunity to call home just to check on the baby. After Narok town the cellular network is very unreliable .

narok-town
Narok Town

The drive from Narok  was uneventful. The road is wonderful. We must have driven for around 2 – 3 hrs  up to the point you turn off to a dirt road. This is the beginning of the long drive to the Maasai Mara Park gate.

We covered around 70km of bumpy dirt road.  I can’t tell you how happy I was to see the gate after what seemed like forever. This is Musiara Gate,one of the parks many access points.

wp_20161029_14_40_34_pro1
Musiara Gate – Maasai Mara National Park

At this point, you will need to pay the park fees before they let you drive through.

If you love watching National Geographic or Big Cat Diary like me, you will definitely feel some sense of familiarity once you are in the park….. I kept thinking , I have seen this before.

We had a short game drive en route to the camp. We didn’t see  much as it was such a short drive from the gate.  The first night was at Hammerkop Migration Camp. This is a bush camp set up along Mara River.

wp_20161029_16_55_31_pro1
Hammerkop Migration Camp
wp_20161029_16_57_35_pro2
Mara River

We had a lovely evening at the camp. Due to the proximity to Mara River, I could hear the hippos in the river all night. A bit scary but I was too exhausted . I slept like a baby.

We scheduled an early game drive (6.30am) the next morning . That marked the first night in the Maasai Mara.

Look out for my next post on the rest of my stay……

Happy Travels!!!

Numbers

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen Morrow says:

    The Mara river looks lovely. I would love to see the hippos! And especially the big cats.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sherri King says:

    I’d love to visit Maasai Mara one day. My only trips to Africa have both been to Harare, Zimbabwe for short stays (3 days each trip) and I would love to stay longer and go on a safari!

    Like

  3. Neha Verma says:

    I am glad you had a lovely time. I can totally relate to that separation anxiety thing . I have my own 2.4 years old. And I have never been able to leave her behind, even if sometimes it’s more convenient and practical to do so

    Like

    1. Thank you.. You will find that it gets easier with time. Not to worry

      Like

  4. Diana Chen says:

    Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever been that close to hippos before, let alone spend the night sleeping in proximity to them. Sounds like a great trip though, even though you had to leave your baby for a couple of days. Great tip about the cell service disappearing after Narok.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TravelingMel says:

    It’s so hard to leave our little ones, but looks like you had a good time. The tent looks really comfortable and I am sure was a relief after the bumpy road. How cool to here hippos from your bed!

    Like

    1. Its never easy to leave them thats for sure….you keep calling home throughout the trip…

      Like

  6. Kathy - Walkabout Wanderer says:

    Wow what a great experience. I too love Big Cat Diary! I have been to other parks in Kenya but never to the Maasai Mara. A great post, thank you.

    Like

    1. You are welcome Kathy. I hope you get to visit soon

      Like

  7. Abigail says:

    This is the first time that I’ve heard of this place, which makes me excited to know that there is so much to explore. Love that tent too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

